Databases A-C
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile:  College/University. Full text. A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects — authoritative and comprehensive.  Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
 Image result for ancestry logo AncestryGenealogy.  Offering a new, simplified search screen and contains the following enhancements not previously available in MeL: Passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans; Naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900; Immigration records for more than 100 countries Increase of more than 10 million names; an improved viewer for documents.  Only available inside the library.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index:  Genealogy/History. Index only. Current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
BookFlix™
BookFlix™:  Grades PreK – 3.  An interactive experience that allows beginning readers to explore fiction and non-fiction designed to increase understanding and fluency. Increase comprehension and have fun at the same time!  Works best in Google Chrome.
Britannica School
Britannica School:  Suite of Britannica School resources at four levels – Learning Zone, Elementary, Middle, and High. School code is mel5. Each contains resources at the appropriate learning and skill level including primary sources in subjects such as people, countries, science, animals, current events, and biographies.
Britannica School - Elementary
Britannica School – Elementary:  Grades 3-4. School code is mel5. Find information on countries, animals, and people in articles, media, and a world atlas. Watch and learn with videos, games, and activities.
Britannica School - High
Britannica School – High:  High School and adult. School code is mel5. Primary sources for quick facts and in-depth information on history, geography, people, places, science, and much more. Biographies, world atlas, countries comparison, articles and interactive resources are available.
Britannica School - Learning Zone
Britannica School – Learning Zone:  Pre K – 2nd grade. School code is mel5. Activity-centered learning to explore, play, read, and build technology skills. Letters, numbers, geography, shapes and much more are included. Britannica Learning Zone requires Adobe Flash Player to be enabled on your browser.
Britannica School - Middle
Britannica School – Middle:  Grades 5-7. Homework help and discovery learning. School code is mel5. Explore maps, photos, articles, famous people and places, compare countries, and tour the U.S.A.
BusinessDecision
Business Decision:  Business. Comprehensive business-to-consumer market data. Click “More” for user tools. Company profiles, product/brand information with investment reports, rankings and market share data allow users to better penetrate the consumer marketplace.
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global:  Business. Mostly full text.  Research and analyze companies and industries around the world.  Featuring the content you need to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale’s Core Business Collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
Chilton's
Chilton Library:   General interest. Full text.  Representing the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Year, make, and model combinations from 1940 to the present. Videos, photos, wiring diagrams, diagnostics, and maintenance specifications.
Computer Database
Computer Database:  General interest. Full text. Computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Results may be viewed by subject, document type or publication title.

Databases D-F
DemographicsNow: Business & People
Demographics Now:  Business. Researchers and entrepreneurs are provided with comprehensive business and demographic information valuable to assess business viability, create sales leads and marketing mailing lists, complete location analyses and business plans, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors and much more.  This versatile database is useful for those who want to start a business as well as those who want to take their established business to the next level.
Early World of Learning
Early World of Learning:  Grades PreK-3. Follow Trek and Taffy the cat around the world learning about colors, numbers and other fun things. Strengthen reading foundations with stories, activities and videos. Explore the Know It encyclopedia designed especially for early readers.  Includes materials for educators.
eBook Collection
eBook Collection:  General interest. Full text.  Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics.
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook K-8 Collection:  K-8. Fiction and nonfiction books you can read online – for school and for fun.  Search for what you want.  Picture books, homework topics, languages learning.  Online help available too.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos:  Grades PreK – 5. Bilingual resources – visual dictionary, world of animals, encyclopedia articles, and Spanish language newspapers.  Eight categories to browse: arts, history and government, people, places, plants and animals, science and mathematics, sports and hobbies, and world religions.  The visual dictionary includes thousands of images and more than 12,000 labels.  Save, print, or email content.
ERIC (free version)
ERIC (free version):  Educators, researchers, and general interest. Abstracts and/or Full text.  Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. Includes bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) for more than 1.4 million items indexed  since 1996, including jornal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education related materials.  Currently, more than 650 journals are indexes in ERIC either comprehensively (full content) or selectively (articles that are education-related).  Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP:  College. Mostly full text. Magazine, newspaper and journal articles appropriate to college and university -level research from 1980 to the present. Updated continuously. All topics.
FDSys (Federal Digital System)
FDSys (Federal Digital System):   General interest. Freely available materials. Online access to authentic Government information including Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Search, browse and download documents and publications.
Databases G-I
Gale Directory Library
 Gale Directory Library:  Business. Provides access to Ward’s Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico, and Business Rankings Annual. Ward’s profiles over 51,000 companies, (approximately 18,000 in Canada and 33,000 in Mexico) listing the industries in which it operates, names of top executives, number of employees, the type of company it is, and financial performance.  Resources useful for entrepreneurs and small businesses.  The eDirectory version also includes alternative mailing addresses, an expanded list of executives, and historical financial information.  Business Rankings Annual (BRA) provides “top ten” rankings of companies, products, services, and business-related activities compiled from a variety of published sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
 Gale Virtual Reference Library:  General interest. Full text. Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Business Collection
 Gale Virtual Reference Library: Business Collection:  Business. Full text. Business-related titles pulled from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
General OneFile
 General OneFile:   General user. Mostly full text. One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.  Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold
 General Reference Center Gold:  General user. Mostly full text. Integrates a variety of sources – newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.  Updated daily.  Indexing, abstracts, image, or full text formats available.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
 Health and Wellness Resource Center:  General interest. Mostly full text. Intended for informational purposes only. Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., articles from 2,200 general interest publications and links to reputable health websites in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.  Includes video.
Health Reference Center Academic
 Health Reference Center Academic:  Students, Patients, Health Professionals. Mostly full text. Intended for informational purposes only. Multi-source resource providing access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researches including nursing and allied health students.
HeritageQuest Online
 HeritageQuest Online:  Genealogy/History/Biography. Full text and indexing. Includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 – 1940 U.S. federal censuses; more than 28,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories; more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more.  PERSI, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions are included.
Informe! Academico
 Informe! Academico:  Spanish. Full text. Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
InfoTrac Business Collection
 InfoTrac Business CollectionBusiness. Indexing, abstracts and full text for nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications from international, US and regional news sources essential for entrepreneurs and small businesses. Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.  Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand:    General user. Full text. Collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Includes New York Times (1985-current) and limited runs of other Michigan newspapers.
InfoTrac Student Edition
InfoTrac Student Edition:  High School. Mostly full text. Updated daily. Over 1,300 titles cross searchable with eBooks. Gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Databases K-M
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits:  Grades PreK – 5. Full text. Especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree.  Curriculum-related and age appropriate content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines.
LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library:  Test Prep/Jobs/Careers. An online learning platform of seven interactive learning centers for academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading, and skill-building tools. Learning Centers include: High School Equivalency, College Preparation, College, Career, Adult Learning, School, and Recursos para Hispanohablantes.  Learning Centers offer the practice tests, exercise, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want – at school, at work, or in life.  A free user accounts to login to the Learning Centers must be created.

Legal Forms Library
Legal Forms Library:  General interest and professional.  Copies of actual forms and documents in Word format are provided to help users with their legal or business needs. Continuously updated to reflect current state laws, Also includes a law digest, legal questions and answers, and an attorney directory.  Not all Michigan courts may accept the legal forms contained in this resource.  You may wish to check SCAO-Approved Court Forms or a law library for more examples and consult an attorney for assistance.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac:  General interest and professional. Some full text. Features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications including Michigan specific and provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, Bar Association journals, specialty publications, and international legal journals, including more than 2,000 full text titles.  Also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus:  Patients and health professionals.  Intended for informational purposes only. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find the meanings of words, view medical videos or illustrations, get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.  National Institute of Health’s website for patients and their families and friends produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators
Michigan Authors and Illustrators:  General interest. Searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators that provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations.
Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online
Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online:  Genealogy/history. This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children’s books.
Military and Intelligence Database
Military and Intelligence Database:  General interest/history.  Content from scholarly journals, magazines and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Databases N-Z
New York Times
New York Times:  General interest. Full text: January 1, 1985 – current. Indexing: January 1, 1965 – current. Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary. National edition.
NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus:  K-8. Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, State standards; even books made into movies, and much more.  Read reviews and learn about the author.  Create your own reading wish list.

Nursing Resource Center
Nursing Resource Center:  Nursing students and healthcare professionals. Mostly full-text.  Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. Information is written in an accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals.  Intended for informational purposes only.
OAIster (free version)
OAIster (free version):   General interest. Catalog of more than 30 million records of digitized materials from open-archive collections worldwide.  Includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,500 contributors worldwide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context:   Middle school through college undergraduate and General user.  Full-text.  Features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Continuously updated pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, tables/chart/graphs, and more.  Contains more than 700 Greenhaven Press, Gale, Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and U-X-L titles.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection:  General and professional.  Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.  A collection drawn from Gale databases Academic OneFile and General OneFile.  Intended for informational purposes only.
Psychology Collection
Psychology Collection:  General and professional.  Explores what makes people “tick” from childhood to death and gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Drawn from Gale databases Academic OneFile and General OneFile.  Intended for informational purposes only.
Research in Context
Research in Context:  Middle School.  Includes the most-studied topics for grades 6-8 – literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Written specifically for middle schoolers (high school students may find it useful too) this information comes from authoritative sources including Gale, National Geographic and Scholastic and is aligned to national and state curriculum standards.  Designed to develop learning skills to launch 6-8 graders into high school and beyond.
  Romulus Historic Newspapers:  General interst/genealogy/history.  Access to the full text of the Romulus Roman from 1968-1993.  Access the electronic edition of the Romulus Roman / The Eagle as a publication of Associated Press here.  Online files must be searched separately. However, if you need assistance and would like a Librarian to run a search for you, please call the library at 734-942-7589.  **Access to this digital content is a work in progress.  Active (colored) links may be viewed.  More digitization is currently in progress.
Small Business Resource Center
Small Business Resource Center:   Business and general interest. Full text. Learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how-to guides, articles and websites.
Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
Turfgrass Information File (TGIF):   General interest. Over 50% full text content. Cooperative project of the United States Golf Association and the Michigan State University Libraries’ Turfgrass Information Center. Provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of work related to turfgrass culture.  Established in 1983.  Updated on a continuous basis.  Guided and power search options.
World Book Kids
World Book Kids:  Grades PreK – 5.  Contains nine content categories: Pictures and Videos, World of Animals, Activities, Maps and More, Games, Important People, Compare Places, Science Projects, and Dictionary. Also includes support and educator sections.
WorldCat (free version)
WorldCat (free version):  General interest. Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world for popular books, music CDs and videos.